Your One and Only Place for MapleStory News

The Maple News Network was created in July of 2007 by Savage and friends. MNN is comprised of the main site, Maple-News.com, which is the first and only MapleStory news website. Other sites such as MapleBlog and the MapleStory Fail Blog are also part of the network in addition to news and music radio stations. Here at MNN we value unbiased news that can educate and interest the average mapler and gamer about their community and coming features. Maple News is known and respected by Nexon America and expects to expand to other Nexon games in coming months. We strive to bring you the latest and most accurate MapleStory news and bringing together an intelligent and entertaining community.

DMCA IS A HOAX! Masked Email Script Used

Posted by Savage On December - 14 - 2008

Only a few moments ago, we learned through further investigation on our Gmail account, that the email was sent by PhantomBurn, formerly the administrator and creator of a MapleStory Private Server called HelixStory, using a email masking script on his website, HelixStory.net. The proof is below:

Delivered-To: maplenewsnetwork@gmail.com
Received: by 10.86.93.5 with SMTP id q5cs251099fgb;
Sat, 13 Dec 2008 17:13:53 -0800 (PST)
Received: by 10.151.39.2 with SMTP id r2mr2610423ybj.111.1229217232163;
Sat, 13 Dec 2008 17:13:52 -0800 (PST)
Return-Path:
Received: from sh145.surpasshosting.com (sh145.surpasshosting.com [72.29.80.235])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 6si580485yxg.3.2008.12.13.17.13.51;
Sat, 13 Dec 2008 17:13:51 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning lkorn@nexon.net does not designate 72.29.80.235 as permitted sender) client-ip=72.29.80.235;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=softfail (google.com: domain of transitioning lkorn@nexon.net does not designate 72.29.80.235 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=lkorn@nexon.net
Received: from helixsto by sh145.surpasshosting.com with local (Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from )
id 1LBfYB-0005VL-V1
for maplenewsnetwork@gmail.com; Sat, 13 Dec 2008 20:13:40 -0500
To: maplenewsnetwork@gmail.com
Subject: DMCA Notice www.maple-news.com
Delivered-To: maplenewsnetwork@gmail.com
Reply-To: Lloyd Korn
Received: from lkorn.nexon.net (lkorn.nexon.net [63.251.217.130]) by mx.google.com with SMTP id x56si6475345pyg.2007.03.02.21.26.27; Sat, 13 Dec 2008 14:57:32 -0800 (PST)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of lkorn@nexon.net designates 63.251.217.130 as permitted sender)
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of maplestory@nexon.net designates 63.251.217.130 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=maplestory@nexon.net
Received: from lkorn@nexon.net by nexon.net with local (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from ) id 1LBdQH-0000X0-30 for maplenewsnetwork@gmail.com; Sat, 13 Dec 2008 17:57:21 -0500
From: Lloyd Korn
Message-Id: <082201c75d54$7d4701b0$97d9fb3f@nxam.com>
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname – sh145.nexon.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain – nexon.net
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain – sh145.nexon.net
X-Source-Args: /usr/bin/php /home/maplesto/public_html/index.asp
X-Source-Dir: nexon.net:/public_html/index.asp
Date: Sat, 13 Dec 2008 20:13:39 -0500
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname – sh145.surpasshosting.com
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain – gmail.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID – [32102 32003] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain – nexon.net
X-Source: /usr/bin/php
X-Source-Args: /usr/bin/php /home/helixsto/public_html/fake-email/mailed.php
X-Source-Dir: helixstory.net:/public_html/fake-email

The email was sent by “http://helixstory.net/fake-email” using a pre-made form. Not only is what PhantomBurn did extremely illegal, it also caused unnecessary hype and distress in the MapleStory community. Maple-News is EXTREMELY sorry for what has happened here. Although we are relieved that NEXON did not send the DMCA, we are very angry and disappointed that someone would go so far just to try and shut down our site.

The reprocussions of this script could hav been devastating. It could have been used to make NEXON appear “lawsuit crazy.” We would like to apologize to NEXON America for what has happened here. We hope that they will take appropriate action to make known the possibility of fake DMCA notices as well as this script.

I hope that we can move on from this horrible incident. I am still in shock about what happened here and I cannot believe someone went this far. The fake DMCA notice was unncessary and just plain disgusting.

10 Responses so far
  1. AzurianLight Said,

    HA I knew someone was trying to set you up!!! the guy gave himself away by saying that you use this site for finical gain. Something about that statement just didn’t sit right with me

    Posted on December 14th, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  2. IRIS Said,

    Mhmm. Sorry Nexon. :)

    Posted on December 14th, 2008 at 7:57 pm

  3. Tribunal Said,

    Wow…I find this so funny how we’re the ones minding our own business and they try to shut us down thinking they’re all cool. I cant even explain how funny this is.

    Posted on December 14th, 2008 at 9:22 pm

  4. Iris Said,

    MHMM :)

    Posted on December 14th, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  5. PTOM Said,

    hmmm.. so i guess NEXON is okay with their private servers, just that stupid people around are sending fake DMCA notices. eh?

    i think you should still contact Lloyd about this e-mail scam. seriously.

    Posted on December 15th, 2008 at 12:50 am

  6. Tribunal Said,

    Bud, that’s a long story that we don’t really want to get into but basically, we shut it down.

    Posted on December 15th, 2008 at 10:44 am

  7. Thorgal Said,

    To PTOM, Nexon is NOT Okay with Private servers, they are with News/Fansites though.

    I’m glad this is over.

    Posted on December 15th, 2008 at 3:58 pm

  8. smiles Said,

    Hmmm… could this also mean the ones the private servers received are also fakes? They’re the exact same letter after all…

    Posted on December 16th, 2008 at 3:02 am

  9. AVIN Said,

    can someone go rape PhantomBurn? asshole.

    Posted on December 18th, 2008 at 5:15 am

  10. Pop4life24 Said,

    What does HOAX Stand for and MOST PRIVATE SERVERS SHUT DOWN FOR NO REASON THEN???

    Posted on December 25th, 2008 at 2:44 pm

Add your comment

Help us out by donating and earn cool features!

Nexon’s New Threat…The Net

Posted by kotopros
Feb-6-2010

ALERT: January OdinMS Update!

Posted by Savage
Feb-2-2010

Mabinogi Europe!

Posted by MrPudding
Nov-25-2009

Is MapleStory Coming to the iPhone?

Posted by Savage
Nov-5-2009